The College Post
The College Post -- Covering Higher Education in America

University of San Diego Honors 9 Faculty Members


The University of San Diego has awarded its nine faculty members with top university awards for making outstanding scholarly achievements in research and teaching.

Five professors from different departments – Roy Brooks, Joseph Burkard, Thomas Reifer, Lori Watson, and Carsten Zimmerman – were selected for the University Professorship, while two professors Rangapriya Kannan-Narasimhan and  Karen Teel were endowed with the Clarence L. Steber Professorship for making contributions to the areas of research, teaching, and service.

At the same time, two other professors, Dov Fox and Orly Lobel, received the Herzog Scholar recognition and Endowed Professorship for meritorious teaching and scholarly productivity.

“We can all take great pride and joy in the contributions of these nine faculty to their disciplines and to the University of San Diego, and we are delighted their outstanding achievements are being recognized with these prestigious awards,” Provost Gail F. Baker said, when the awards were first announced in February.

The awards were announced during the convocation ceremony held on September 7 by the University President James T. Harris.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.